Abstracting objects

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA IMG_20141110_214845 IMG_20141114_132855

I have begun, and intend to further explore, abstract works in the style of Philip Guston. I think that this way of working is an effective way of communicating ideas of a distance in identity between an individual with dementia and a third party, by playing with the amount of detail that I put into an image I am able to attempt to alter the way in which the objects are perceived. I think some of these pieces achieve this more than others, for example the painting with the black background and white shapes is more visually effective, in my opinion, than the slightly more representative one without a background. I would like to develop this working with white on a black background as it begins to toy with the idea of the importance of surrounding in developing identity.
What I have also begun to explore is the use of printmaking from the paintings I am doing, pressing paper over the wet paint to take a trace of the image, furthering its abstraction and distancing the image further from its original source. This has begun to develop my main area of interest, the concept of taking the identity of something as far away from the original source as possible. I think this met with the print pieces, I am especially pleased with the painting print seen last in this series of images, I think it is works well as a composition and also delivers the concept in quite an effective way.

Leave a Reply

