Family Portraits

Having turned towards the exploration of the symbolic potential of the handbag, I decided to return to some of the initial ideas I had on exploring the content of handbag. Although, admittedly this avenue of experimentation does not excite me as much as what I have previously been looking at, I feel that it is still important that I at least brush upon the use of a handbag as potentially a ‘carrier of self’.
I looked at the work of Italian photographer Camilla Catrambone, in particular her series of ‘Family Portraits’.

portrait, family, granpa, mother, nanny, objects, uncle, ant, cooking, cusine, telephone, parentsportrait, family, granpa, mother, nanny, objects, uncle, ant, cooking, cusine, telephone, parentsportrait, family, granpa, mother, nanny, objects, uncle, ant, cooking, cusine, telephone, parentsportrait, family, granpa, mother, nanny, objects, uncle, ant, cooking, cusine, telephone, parents

Her work attempts to introduce us to her family members by photographing them through the significant objects that they have owned. The work is an interesting angle on portrait photography and allows us to explore and analyse her family members and their lives through their possessions.

This is something that I attempted to begin investigating, but instead looking at possessions within handbags. I explored the content of my own, my mothers’ and my sisters’ handbags – photographed them and then documented them through painting and drawing. Here are some of the photographs and works that I gathered from this.

IMG_20141123_154649

IMG_20141123_123938

IMG_20141117_101036

I regret not taking higher quality photographs, but my intention was to mainly work from these images to produce paintings and drawings.

IMG_20141124_155951

IMG_20141124_213849

IMG_20141124_213906

IMG_20141124_213932

IMG_20141124_214008

IMG_20141124_214048

IMG_20141124_160000

Another interesting artist working with similar content is the Chinese conceptual artist Song Dong, with his piece ‘Waste Not’, in which we see a vast collection of his mothers belongings. This piece looks at the idea of collection, hoarding and extending oneself through objects.

http://www.timeout.com/london/art/song-dong-waste-not

The life of a typical Chinese woman through the items she collects in a lifetime. "Waste Not" Art Installation by Song Dong

Leave a Reply

