Walks in the city

As part of my film project, and also the independent area of my research, I decided to go on a couple of walks around the city. The first walk I did was to an area in Cathays, I used a random online area generator, set the perimeters to Cardiff and allowed it  to dictate to me the place in which I would go.

ragrag1 rag3rag2

It was 145 Wyverne Road that was called up, and so I traveled there one afternoon. My aim was to go to the place and absorb, investigate and be mindful of all of the information within the space. I filmed part of the journey to that area as I walked there, filming the floor, thinking that this may be interesting to explore. Once I got t other place I spent a short time filming the area before just staying in the space and attempting to become fully aware of my surroundings.

I captured photographs of small details that I noticed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also took rubbings of some of the details.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wanted to engage all of my senses in this exercise, and so I recorded all that I could hear and smell as well as see.

What can I see?

The sun is in my eyes. People. Students, walking around. Cars. Bikes. Vans. Shattered Glass. Chewing gum. Shadows. Light paint. Stones. Weeds. Cracks. White. Grey. Blue. Yellow. Lines. Triangles. Rectangles. Green. Road. Buildings. Clear blue sky.

What can I hear?

Buzz of a generator. Distant beep of a crossing. Footsteps. Cars. Lots of cars. Car door shutting. Engine starting. Distant traffic. Voices. Suitcase being pulled. Birds? Don’t recall birds.

What can I smell?

Somewhat fresh – but not quite clear. Distant smell of cigarette smoke. Damp Tarmac. Nothing strong. A distant sweet smell.

What can I feel?

Warmth of sunshine. The ground is damp and cold.

Leave a Reply

