Informing my drawings

I have been considering the following artists and their styles as I have been working on my drawings for Davida’s project.

These artists have interested me because of their fragmented, linear, often cubist approaches to the city and/or urban environment. It offers a new perspective to the city, focusing on the shape and colour of the urban landscape, this is something I am hoping to capture in my work.

Julie Mehretu

Stadia I - Julie Mehretu - 2004 - 28367Black Ground (deep light) - Julie Mehretu - 2006 - 41154

R

Julie Mehretu’s drawings have been a real influence in the way I have approached the work. Her work focuses on patterns and details in an urban environment, layering them up and creating beautiful drawings from the fragmentation seen in an urban setting – but are imagined and are not linked to one particular location, instead just reflect the detailing common to urban life. Although the work I am doing is looking at a specific path and the details associated with it – I think the layering and particular attention to fragmentation of colour and shape is something that I wish to explore in my work.

Armando Andrade Tudela

wpid-img_20150226_201601.jpgwpid-img_20150226_201552.jpg

armando andrade tudela - Google SearchSugar in the Air

This artist has been particularly influential in my work, it seems to me to be an investigation of the shapes and patterns within a city – removing the shapes from the environment and so removing the context, in order to explore urban features in quite a raw undisturbed way.

Umberto Boccioni

The Street Enters the House - Umberto BoccioniElasticity (1912) by Italian artist Umberto Boccioni (1882-1916). This oil on canvas was executed in Milan and held at the Pinacoteca di Brera within that city.

Piet Mondrian

Although not a direct influence in terms of style, Mondrians work has inspired me to look at the use of bold line and colour in order to create bold and striking imagery.

Piet Mondrian / Composition (Compositie) / 1916 / Oil on canvas, with wood / GuggenheimComposition n. XIII/ Composition 2, 1913 Piet Mondrian

Albert Gleizes

Nueva York, 1916, Albert Gleizes

'Brooklyn Bridge' (1915) by Albert Gleizes'Ballerina' (1917) by Albert Gleizes

Laszlo Moholy Nagy

laszlo moholy nagyLaszlo Moholy Nagy

Untitled, Laszlo Moholy-NagyBy Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, 1920, Ramp, ink & watercolor.

Leave a Reply

