Petra Cortright

Cortright’s earlier webcam work, for me,  questions the way in we relate to ‘presence’ on the internet. I am interested in her ability to digitally disrupt what would otherwise be a fairly unquestioned relationship between viewer and subject. The heavy video effects challenge the question of what is there and what isn’t. I find that her work highlights the vulnerability of digital representation, something that I am interested within my use of digital archived footage.

A more recent piece Vicky Deep in Spring Valley, I find an incredibly engaging use of appropriated digital files. Relating this to my own work, I am interested in how the expansive range of material available online can be appropriated to construct narratives, its interesting as well to consider both the restraints and assistive elements of the use of digital readymades.

Leave a Reply

