Future Development of Video Pieces

The video work that I have produced towards my summative assessment has largely been focused on the use of language and its relationship with meaning, rather than explicitly looking at narrative. Narrative and its disruption was something that I was interested in at the start of the project but didn’t spend much time exploring fully. I have recently however been thinking about how I can use the archive footage that I have been using in my recent video works but instead of explicitly exploring language, look to the development of ‘non-narrative’ narrative pieces. By this I mean works that make use of the readymade archive footage, weaved together – exploring any form of link I can find between the pieces of footage to develop a nonsensical narrative piece that jumps uncomfortably between different clips. I hope to explore tenuous links that I can create between otherwise unrelated readymade footage in perhaps a more playful way than the language focused pieces that I have developed so far.

Ryan Trecartin

I have been considering the performative video works of Ryan Trecartin, and his approach to constructing narratives. I have been especially thinking about his video ‘I be area’, with its disorientating use of time and narrative transitioned with low quality digital effects. I’m interested in the almost nauseating construction of reality that the video presents, with the ‘low-fi’ transition effects highlighting a sense of digital construction.

Following the summative assessment I hope to develop the video work further, becoming a bit more ambitious with the work that I am creating. I am pleased with how the work has developed so far, but recognise that there are many more avenues that I can pursue with my work. I feel this year I have perhaps been a bit timid in the work that I am creating. I hope that over the summer and into third year, I can find ways to express my ideas a bit more ambitiously.

Leave a Reply

