Mixed Media Pieces

Alongside the video I decided to exhibit a selection of the mixed media and drawing pieces that I have been recently developing to playfully explore the absurd narratives that are developed through chance. I would have liked to have displayed these pieces perhaps closer to the video itself, as I am not sure they are strong enough in the space to act as a stand alone series. I feel like I could have explored the drawing and collage element of my practice a bit more ambitiously – perhaps finding a way of linking them more with video pieces. The drawings are quite timid, and I don’t feel that they have the same conceptual strength as the video. They are quite playful, and I do like this light hearted response to some of the heavier theories I am responding to in my work.

Leave a Reply

