Richie Moment

I am enjoying the playful video work of Richie Moment, particularly his excessive and over the top aesthetic. His tongue in cheek investigation into the culture of contemporary art is both critical, and also embracing. He uses text to string through a narrative, whilst playing with an excess of video footage both appropriated and of himself. This sort of use of video has encouraged me to consider pushing the limits with the playfulness of the videos that I am producing. At the moment I am feeling a bit stagnant in what I am producing – but seeing this sort of work makes me want to be more playful and excessive in what I am doing. I am also looking at the way he uses  both authorship and appropriation, considering this combination and how in my own practice I can own and use the material I am collecting.

 

Leave a Reply

