Developing a voice

One of the most frequent comments that I have had about the video work that I have been making is that the text to speech synthesised voice is very difficult to follow because of its familiarity.

It, therefore, doesn’t quite have the ‘uncanny’ nature and presence that perhaps would lend itself to the content of the work better. Although I did quite like the effect that the autmoton style voice had, it’s connotations and synthetic nature, I realised it was worth experimenting with a few more styles of narration.

Considering my use of an animated version of my own face, I felt the most natural next step would be to use my own voice.

I wasn’t at all happy with the use of my natural voice,  I didn’t think it sat well with the animation as it sounded too ‘human’. I then tried a slight alteration of this voice using the sounds editing software audacity.

I am a lot happier with this voice, it has a humanity to it – more so than the text to speech, but this humanlike voice is disrupted by a slight mechanical effect. My only thought at the moment is that perhaps it is quite childlike – I am unsure how this will come across in relation to the content that it will be narrating. I have a gap crit soon, so it will be interesting to see how people relate to the voice.

Leave a Reply

